!!> BOOKS ✻ You Exist Too Much ✴ Author Zaina Arafat – Thepurelynaturalcompany.co.uk

You Exist Too Much A Provocative And Seductive Debut Of Desire And Doubleness That Follows The Life Of A Young Palestinian American Woman Caught Between Cultural, Religious, And Sexual Identities As She Endeavors To Lead An Authentic Life O, The Oprah Magazine On A Hot Day In Bethlehem, A Year Old Palestinian American Girl Is Yelled At By A Group Of Men Outside The Church Of The Nativity She Has Exposed Her Legs In A Biblical City, An Act They Deem Forbidden, And Their Judgement Will Echo On Through Her Adolescence When Our Narrator Finally Admits To Her Mother That She Is Queer, Her Mother S Response Only Intensifies A Sense Of Shame You Exist Too Much, She Tells Her DaughterTold In Vignettes That Flash Between The US And The Middle East From New York To Jordan, Lebanon, And Palestine Zaina Arafat S Debut Novel Traces Her Protagonist S Progress From Blushing Teen To Sought After DJ And Aspiring Writer In Brooklyn, She Moves Into An Apartment With Her First Serious Girlfriend And Tries To Content Herself With Their Comfortable Relationship But Soon Her Longings, So Closely Hidden During Her Teenage Years, Explode Out Into Reckless Romantic Encounters And Obsessions With Other People Her Desire To Thwart Her Own Destructive Impulses Will Eventually Lead Her To The Ledge, An Unconventional Treatment Center That Identifies Her Affliction As Love Addiction In This Strange, Enclosed Society She Will Start To Consider The Unnerving Similarities Between Her Own Internal Traumas And Divisions And Those Of The Places That Have Formed HerOpening Up The Fantasies And Desires Of One Young Woman Caught Between Cultural, Religious, And Sexual Identities, You Exist Too Much Is A Captivating Story Charting Two Of Our Most Intense Longings For Love, And A Place To Call Home


About the Author: Zaina Arafat

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the You Exist Too Much book, this is one of the most wanted Zaina Arafat author readers around the world.



10 thoughts on “You Exist Too Much

  1. says:

    Hypnotically meandering narrative structure Deeply compelling protagonist Lovely sentences Sexy, in it s own way.


  2. says:

    The background of the novel is a woman born to Palestinian parents, who were forced to relocate in 1967 They have family in Lebanon, West Bank, and Jordan, but live in America Her parents had a volatile relationship and her mother has often treated her like competition or an inconvenience, telling her You exist too much when she responds emotionally, especially when she starts trying to come out to her The refusal to under


  3. says:

    Before being sent an arc for this book i remember coming across it and being excited for the lgbt pali representation Not even halfway through and this book manages to strike every single way to disrespect sexuality and mental illness, brimming with stereotypes and unrealistic representations This is extremely harmful towards bisexuals specifically, making them labeled as love addicts going around falling in love with every person


  4. says:

    It s always frustrating when a blurb promises one thing but the book does not follow thru You Exist intrigued me because it was seemingly a story of culture clash, a young American of Palestinian descent who struggles between the expectations of her Arab heritage and her quest to come into her own, an out and proud bisexual woman Unfortunately, 80% of the book does nothing of the sort The novel is told in first person present tense and re


  5. says:

    In a word WOWSo, okay Book review of YOU EXIST TOO MUCH is up on my blog It s too long to fit here Suffice to say that a 30 something bisexual Palestinian American woman tells me my life in beautiful, painfully honest sentences I read this book twice and that is as y all re aware an increasingly rare occurrence for me, at my age and with my TBR approaching mid four figures The reason I decided that I needed a second trip through the book was simp


  6. says:

    It is a bizarre and unsettling feeling, to exist in a liminal state between two realms, unable to attain full access to one or the other Although I d intended to read You Exist Too Much I nearly didn t after reading a really negative review for it, one that was very critical of Zaina Arafat s depiction of bisexuality Luckily, my mother read this first and recommended it to me While I believe that the gender and sexual orientation of a reviewer should not


  7. says:

    You exist too muchThese are the words of a mother to our unnamed narrator It is ironic that she would choose these words to berate her child considering that her character comes off too full of her own self and her own existence She really sees everything as it pertains to her and how it would affect her There is no compassion or empathy there Not especially for her daughter Instead, she blames the narrator for her sacrifice The life she would have had had she n


  8. says:

    First off, I have to say this was one of my most anticipated reads of the year If you ve been following me for awhile you know I love Middle Eastern lit and obviously as a queer woman who has been begging and pleading forqueer women s stories finding this one was amazing I ve been telling people about it and recommending it for so many months And as a Jewish woman who readsIsraeli lit than most, I ve been making the effort to readPalestinian authors There are some scene


  9. says:

    For fans of Garth Greenwell and Weike Wang, You Exist Too Much is a startling debut novel of desire and doubleness following the life of a young Palestinian American woman caught between cultural, religious, and sexual identities.


  10. says:

    YOU EXIST TOO MUCH is a novel following an unnamed narrator back and forth through time, across the United States and the Middle East Our narrator is a Palestinian American queer woman grappling with a love addiction, a complex relationship with her mother, and countless destructive relationships The novel follows her as she goes into treatment for love addiction I can see her being an unlikeable character for sure, but I was helplessly rooting for her to face her demons, set boundarie


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *